

COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

Consider joining one of the Maine AAP Committees - a simple way to get involved and make a difference!

Advocacy

Chair: Joe Anderson, DO

This committee coordinates all policy initiatives and sets the legislative framework for the organization, including review and approval of our legislative focus each session and works closely with our lobbyist and other organizations.

Career/Leadership/ Engagement

Chairs: Alton Kremer, MD Anne Coates, MD

This committee oversees our career mentorship program. They coordinate statewide networking events for members and trainees and lead our poster session celebration at the annual conference.

Conference/ Education

Chairs: Jennifer Jewell, MD, MS Stephanie Joy, MD

The Conference and Education Committee organizes all programming for Maine AAP Members including clinical talks, speaker series and our large annual conference.

Environmental Health & Climate Change

Chairs: Abby Fleisch, MD Erin Flynn, MD Brian Youth, MD

This committee aligns with National AAP efforts on environment and climate change and works to educate Maine pediatricians on the effects of climate change on pediatric health..

Executive Committee

President: Brian Youth, MD Vice President: Anne Coates, MD Secretary: Genevieve Whiting, MD Treasurer: Jeffrey Stone, DO Past President: Laura Blaisdell, MD

This committee guides all activities of the organization in alignment with the Board and Executive Director. They serve as Nominating Cmte and guide Development and Fundraising.

Foster Care

Chairs: Andrea Tracy, MD Amanda Brownell, MD

This committee holds monthly meetings to connect pediatricians and other clinicians working in Foster Care intake clinics and align them with services provided by the Office of Child and Family Services.

Gun Safety

Chairs: Chris Turner, MD Laura Blaisdell, MD

In collaboration with the Maine Gun Safety Coalition and other groups, this committee supports legislation and policy to increase firearm safety and works with medical providers and organizations to promote gun safety education.

Healthy Mental Development

Chairs: Deborah Hagler, MD, MPH Amy Mayhew, MD, MPH

This committee aligns with Maine's Child and Adolescent psychiatrists, and works on projects to improve the mental health of Maine youth. They advise and help structure programs and initiatives to provide SUD treatment for Maine adolescents.

Professional Sustainability

Chairs: Genevieve Whiting, MD

This committee works on issues related to the sustainability of the profession of pediatrics, such as pay parity and equity, physician wellness and satisfaction, workforce recruitment and attainment.

School Health

Chair: Alyssa Goodwin, MD

This committee is aligned with the DOE and Maine Association of School Nurses. They work to align efforts on school health, provide a framework for School Health Advisors and connect with the work of school nurses on all health topics. In addition to standing committees, we have project and grant based initiatives. Examples include Emergency Preparedness, Trauma Informed Care, Infectious Disease Prevention, Vaccination Education, Suicide Prevention and many more!

MAINE AAP, 30 ASSOCIATION DRIVE, P O BOX 190, MANCHESTER, ME 04351 WWW.MAINEAAP.ORG